Dr Nicolas Claeys is a surgeon.

He manages pathologies of the digestive tract, the abdominal wall and endocrine glands such as the thyroid.

He also performs obesity surgery (gastric by-pass, sleeve, plicature, …).

His specialty covers proctology (hemorrhoids, anal abscesses, fissures and fistulas).

Dr. Claeys provides 24-hour care for acute pathologies via the emergency services of the Chirec hospitals (appendicitis, perforation of diverticulitis, acute cholecystitis, etc.). He is also an external consultant surgeon for pancreas surgery at the Erasme hospital.

Most of the operations are performed by laparoscopy or robot-assisted surgery.

Dr. Nicolas Claeys performs laparoscopic bariatric procedures such as bypass, sleeve and plicature.

At both the Delta Hospital (Chirec) and the Braine-l’Alleud-Waterloo Hospital (Chirec), a multidisciplinary team – consisting of endocrinologists, cardiologists, pneumologists for the study of sleep, operating room nurses, dieticians, nutritionists and psychologists, without mentioning all of them – is trained in the specific treatment of overweight people.

A coordinator serves as an interface to optimize the complete management of the pathology.


This is the reduction of the volume of the stomach accompanied by a modification of the food circuit.



This is the resection or removal of a large part of the stomach along the greater curvature.




The abdominal wall has areas of weakness which, over time, can develop into hernias whose contents can strangle. Surgical intervention is then necessary and consists of placing a parietal prosthesis to reinforce the abdominal wall.

Between umbilical hernia, crural hernia or ventration, inguinal hernia is the most frequent

This type of surgery is performed on an outpatient basis, meaning that you are hospitalized for only one day.

It is sometimes necessary to remove the gallbladder when it contains stones that are causing symptoms. This procedure is called a cholecystectomy and is performed on an outpatient basis, meaning that you are only hospitalized for one day
.

This is the permanent or intermittent passage of the upper stomach into the chest through the hiatal orifice. The treatment can be medical or surgical depending on the complaints or response to drug treatments.

The procedure consists of placing the stomach back into the abdominal cavity, and making a valve that prevents acid reflux into the esophagus. This valve is made from the stomach.

This procedure is performed laparoscopically through 5 small incisions

.

Surgery has a prophylactic role in the case of recurrent episodes of diverticulitis or in the case of complicated diverticulitis. It consists in removing the part of the colon containing the diverticula (colectomy) by laparoscopy
.

Appendicitis
Appendectomy is a surgical procedure that consists in removing the appendix when it is infected, most often because of an obstruction. At the end of the operation, it may be necessary to put in place a drainage system (flap or drain) in order to clean the suffusions due to the infection.

Complicated acute diverticulitis
Emergency surgery is sometimes necessary if antibiotics are not effective or if there is an immediate complication, abscess or perforation causing peritonitis.

Acute cholecystitis
Acute cholecystitis is an inflammation of the gallbladder wall associated with an infection of its contents. This acute infection of the gallbladder is very frequently accompanied by the presence of gallstones. Surgical treatment must be carried out early to avoid complications.

Strangulated hernia
The main risk of a hernia is strangulation. When the hernia opening is narrow, it can happen that a bowel loop, passed through the hernia, cannot be reintroduced into the abdominal cavity. Hernial strangulation is a surgical emergency.

Anal abscess
The treatment of anal abscess, given the significant pain, is emergency surgery and drainage of it.



Dr Nicolas Claeys has been trained to use the operating robot for pathologies that are difficult to reach, such as rectal cancer.

The use of the Da Vinci by a surgeon brings several advantages: its manipulator arms have seven degrees of freedom, which allows greater ease in minimally invasive surgery. They allow a greater precision of gestures thanks to a filtration of the tremors. The surgeon’s movement can be multiplied and thus increase the precision of the gesture. The three-dimensional visualization of the intracorporeal space increases the surgeon’s ease during the operation. During an operation with a Da Vinci, the surgeon benefits from a better comfort than during a classic operation under laparoscopy.


Thyroid
Thyroid pathologies sometimes require surgical resection. This operation requires a minimum of 24 hours of hospitalization.

Mini-invasive parathyroid

Adrenal

Le Dr Nicolas Claeys est chirurgien.

Il prend en charge les pathologies du tube digestif, de la paroi abdominale et des glandes endocrines comme la thyroïde.

Il pratique également la chirurgie de l’obésité (gastric by-pass, sleeve, plicature, …).

Sa spécialité recouvre la proctologie (hémorroïde, abcès anal, fissure et fistule).

Le Dr Claeys assure la prise en charge 24h/24 des pathologies aiguës via les services d’urgence des hôpitaux du Chirec (appendicite, perforation sur diverticulite, cholécystite aiguë, …). il est également chirurgien consultant externe pour la chirurgie du pancréas à l’hôpital Erasme.

La majorité des interventions sont effectuées par voie cœlioscopique ou robot-assistée.

Le Dr Nicolas Claeys pratique en cœlioscopie les différentes interventions traitant l’obésité telles que le by-pass, sleeve et autre plicature. 

Tant sur le site de l’hôpital Delta (Chirec) que sur celui de l’hôpital de Braine-l’Alleud – Waterloo (Chirec), une équipe pluridisciplinaire – composée d’endocrinologues, de cardiologues, de pneumologues pour l’étude du sommeil, d’infirmières du bloc opératoire, de diététiciennes, de médecins nutritionnistes et de psychologues, sans tous les citer – est formée à la prise en charge spécifique des personnes en surcharge pondérale.

Une coordinatrice sert d’interface pour optimaliser la prise en charge complète de la pathologie. 


C’est la réduction du volume de l’estomac accompagnée d’une modification du circuit alimentaire.




C’est la résection ou ablation d’une grande partie de l’estomac le long de la grande courbure.





La paroi abdominale comporte des zones de faiblesse qui au cours du temps peuvent évoluer vers des hernies dont le contenu peut s’étrangler. L’intervention chirurgicale est alors nécessaire et consiste à placer une prothèse pariétale renforçant la paroi abdominale. 

Entre l’hernie ombilicale, crurale ou l’éventration , l’hernie inguinale est la plus fréquente

La prise en charge de ce type d’interventions se fait en ambulatoire, c’est-à-dire que vous ne restez hospitalisé qu’un seul jour.

Il est parfois nécessaire d’ôter la vésicule biliaire lorsque celle-ci contient des calculs provoquant des symptômes. Cette intervention s’appelle une cholecystectomie et se réalise en ambulatoire, c’est-à-dire que vous ne restez hospitalisé qu’un seul jour.

Il s’agit du passage permanent ou intermittent du haut de l’estomac dans le thorax à travers l’orifice hiatalLe traitement peut être médical ou chirurgical en fonction des plaintes ou réponse aux traitements médicamenteux.

L’intervention consiste à remettre l’estomac dans la cavité abdominale, et à réaliser une valve qui empêche le reflux acide dans l’oesophage. Cette valve est effectuée à partir de l’estomac.

Cette intervention est  réalisée en cœlioscopie par l’intermédiaire de 5 petites incisions.

La chirurgie a un rôle de prophylaxie dans le cadre d’épisodes de diverticulite à répétition ou dans le cadre de diverticulite compliquée. Elle consiste à ôter la partie du colon comprenant les diverticules (colectomie) par cœlioscopie.

L’appendicite
L’appendicectomie est une intervention chirurgicale qui consiste à enlever l’appendice lorsque celui-ci est infecté le plus souvent à cause d’une obstruction. Il peut être nécessaire de mettre en place en fin d’intervention un drainage ( lamelle ou drain) afin de nettoyer les suffusions dues à l’infection. 

Diverticulite aiguë compliquée
Une intervention chirurgicale en urgence est parfois nécessaire si les antibiotiques ne sont pas efficaces ou si d’emblée une complication existe, abcès ou  perforation provoquant un tableau de péritonite.

Cholécystite aiguë
La cholecystite aiguë est une inflammation de la paroi de la vésicule biliaire associée à une infection de son contenu. Cette infection aiguë de la vésicule biliaire s’accompagne très fréquemment de la présence de calculs biliaires. La prise en charge chirurgicale doit être précoce afin d’éviter des complications.

Hernie étranglée
Le risque principal d’une hernie est l’étranglement. Lorsque l’orifice herniaire est étroit, il peut arriver qu’une anse intestinale, passée dans la hernie, ne puisse plus être réintroduite dans la cavité abdominale. L’étranglement herniaire est une urgence chirurgicale.

Abcès anal
Le traitement de l’abcès anal, compte tenu des douleurs importantes, est la chirurgie en urgence et le drainage de celui-ci.



Le Dr Nicolas Claeys a suivi une formation lui permettant d’utiliser le robot opératoire destiné aux pathologies de localisation plus difficilement atteignable comme le cancer du rectum. 

L’utilisation du Da Vinci par un chirurgien apporte plusieurs avantages : ses bras manipulateurs possèdent sept degrés de liberté, ce qui permet une plus grande aisance en chirurgie minimale-invasive. Ils permettent une plus grande précision des gestes grâce à une filtration des tremblements. Le mouvement du chirurgien peut être démultiplié et augmenter ainsi la précision du geste. La visualisation en trois dimensions de l’espace intra-corporel augmente l’aisance du chirurgien lors de l’intervention. Lors d’une opération avec un Da Vinci, le chirurgien bénéficie d’un meilleur confort que lors d’une opération classique sous cœlioscopie.


Thyroïde
Les pathologies de la thyroïde nécessitent parfois une résection chirurgicale. Cette intervention nécessite 24h minimum d’hospitalisation.

Parathyroïde mini invasif

Surrénale